TIME NO DEY: Eulogy to Eugene Arthur

“For He Himself knows our frame; He is mindful that we are but dust. As for man, his days are like grass; As a flower of the field, so he flourishes. When the wind has passed over it, it is no more”

Psalm 103:14-16

Events in the past days has made me gone blank, finding it extremely difficult to process it all. It is like trying to restart a faulty computer over and over without any success.

It doesn’t add up in any way, and I find it very difficult to attribute to it to God’s will, because I know that it is not his will for anyone to die in his or her prime.

It’ been just over seven years ago since we met as the proud finalists among many applicants for the Diageo Management Trainee programme in 2010. We instantly struck a chord of friendship, you being quite amazed at my choice of words in articulating my views, whilst I found your condor and “plain plain” approach to dealing with issues quite fascinating

We have all matured into playing key roles for our employer over the years. We got married around the same period and all have amazing kids we can’t stop talking about.

There is always a calmness in your approach to solving difficult issues. There have been several occasions I walked to your desk in my full elements, vividly agitated by some payment issues but you always made the problem look easier than I thought and always found a solution.

I, on the other hand have always been a culprit of the numerous POLO requirements. I am a regular receipient of those emails. You walked to my desk just a few days ago to resolve a particular outstanding issue when you realized I wasn’t forthcoming with its closure.

There are too much memories between us, which time won’t permit me to outline.

Friday 3rd March was the internal launch of “Osagyefo”. You were  so full of life and vibrant that you started your celebration way before you set off to the workplace. At the end of the day, there  was the usual “thank God for the long weekend” and “Chaley  we go crush next  week”, “Greetings to the family” chats.

Little did I know that it would be the last time we saw each other.

In all these I ask myself, so who bears the brunt of your demise most?

Your employer has lost a true gem, but the truth is that big multinationals are wired to survive irrespective of what happens, so I guess work will still go on without any visible interruption.

We your friends are devastated and totally broken, no words can describe how we feel, but we will try and move on as the weeks go by.

It is your family who will suffer the most, to some you were a true son, a big brother and an inspiration. Your name surfaced anytime the old men and women gathered, talking about their children who have brought honor to the Arthurs’ family name.

As for your wife and daughter, I can’t find words to describe what they are going through at this stage. The mere fact that your little princess will be patiently waiting every weekend by the windows to hear the screeching sound of Daddy’s car, the embrace of your warm hands and for her to tirelessly narrate all what she has done throughout the week to your patient ears, only to be told that Daddy is not coming is devastating enough.

I pray God give your wife the courage and strength needed  and protect your family, so that whatever you might have loved to do for them will come to pass in greater folds.

Your death has given me a renewed urge to question myself again about why I  am here, how I spend my time and the choices I make going forward. One thing is obvious, Time No Dey. Our lives are just too fragile to procrastinate on our dreams, hate or fight each other. We must let every moment count and love each other.

May your soul rest in Perfect Peace, Eugene Wiabo- Arthur and May the Good Lord keep you till we meet again.

 

Amen.

 

From the desk of ROL 

5 thoughts on “TIME NO DEY: Eulogy to Eugene Arthur

Leave a Reply

